Orky repair time.

During a recent engagement I was lucky enough to field my Stompa, the only issue? Travelling with what turned out to be a surprisingly delicate model… I didn’t have use of a vehicle for this particular jaunt so had to rely on public transportation. I don’t usually mind this because thanks to a small collection of KR cases my models are usually held gently in place by foam and can survive even the most ferocious of London’s Bus drivers. However, I don’t have a KR case big enough for a Stompa (I’m not even sure they make them…) and as a result I had to inexpertly pack it into a cardboard box with some bubble wrap I had lying around.

When I got the SELWG for my game I discovered that, whilst it was mostly intact, my beloved Stompa had suffered some minor damage in transit. This is to say that several of the gun barrels had come away from the main body of the guns. This was annoying but, as I had glue with me, not fatal. When I got it home I wanted to clean up the repair and also strengthen the areas where the structure had failed (Note to self – Foam – core is great for modelling projects but the weak point is where the foam is and the board will come apart like a book opening given half a chance…) and this is why I decided to write this little article…

Ork vehicles are fun to build, paint and play with, that’s a given. But they are also weirdly fun to repair when they do fall apart. Weird, right? Kinda, but my reasoning is that the easiest way to repair Ork vehicles is to think like a Mek and make the repairs how they would (And yes, I do have a full sized Ork Mek cosplay for when I’m doing this…honest…). In this case all I did to repair the damage was cut a series of rectangles of plasticard and bent them 90 degrees. I then glued these around the corner of the gun assembly that had come apart. The resulting join ending up stronger than the original had been (I imagined the Meks welding and bolting metal plates around the battle damage until things that shouldn’t be moving stopped moving). A little bit of green stuff to symbolise welding and the repair was ready to paint. Again Ork stuff is great to paint at this point because you are just adding to the ramshackle nature of the build. Repaired, painted and varnished the Stompa was once again ready for war!

Plasticard repair strips

Green stuff “welding”

Finished product…

Leave a Reply

